Who will wear the Orange and Purple cap by the end of Vivo IPL 2019?

Published on 30th Oct 2020 by BlogBuster Editorial Team

Vivo IPL is the ultimate test of a cricketer’s character. Playing back to back matches, travelling extensively, training day in day out, media interactions, advertisement shoots, carrying the baggage of expectations…phew…it’s too much handle. But then, all of it becomes insignificant when the players are in the middle. The batsman focuses on putting the ball out of the park while the bowler hopes to get him out.  And that’s what makes a champion of a player. Only a few of these champions are rewarded with the Orange Cap (player with most runs) and Purple Cap (player with most wickets). We look at the players who may bag the coveted caps this summer.

Orange Cap

It seems befitting that a player with the orange jersey is currently the top-scorer in the league. Sunrisers Hyderabad’s opener, David Warner, currently tops the list for the Orange Cap. The year-long ban doesn’t seem to have diminished his appetite for runs. His opening partner, Jonny Bairstow, is third in the list of Orange Cap contenders. Who would have thought that an Aussie and an Englishman from the same team would be among the top-five leading run-scorers? 

David Warner
Image Courtesy:

The in-form KL Rahul is within touching distance of donning the coveted Orange Cap. His confidence will be sky-high after being selected in India’s squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. There is also something else that may work in Rahul’s favour. Both Warner and Bairstow will soon join their respective national teams to prepare for the ICC World Cup 2019.


The Orange Cap seems to be heading for a photo finish between KL Rahul, David Warner, Jonny Bairstow and the West Indies heavyweights – Chris Gayle and Andre Russell. Will we have a surprise entrant in Virat Kohli or Rohit Sharma? Wait and watch! 

K L Rahul
Image Courtesy:
Cricket Addictor

Purple Cap

There was a growing concern that in T20 cricket, bowlers would only be providing cannon fodder. After all, the entertainment value of T20 cricket comes from fours and sixes, right? Wrong. On numerous occasions in the Vivo IPL, bowlers have demonstrated that a couple of quick wickets can change the course of a match. This year it’s no different either. 

Delhi Capitals’ South African speedster Kagiso Rabada currently tops the chart with most wickets. 

Delhi Capitals' Kagiso Rabada
Image Courtesy:
DNA India

Compatriot Imran Tahir, from Chennai Super Kings, is meanwhile second, with 15 wickets. The South African duo may soon be summoned by their national team to prepare for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.

Imran Tahir from Chennai Super Kings
Image Courtesy:
Gulf News

Get TataSky Connection