Lords of the Grass – The Players who have dominated the Wimbledon Championships

Founded in 1868, Wimbledon is the oldest tennis tournament in the world and surely the most prestigious. Centre Court has hosted epic matches and all the greats of the game have graced this legendary stage. Here we look at players, past and present, who have dominated The Wimbledon Championships.

1. Chuck-ing down the gauntlet

22-year-old Chuck McKinley mastered the Wimbledon Open Championships in 1963. Taking the victory without facing the top 5 players in the sport at the time, McKinley’s achievement is often derided but impressive nonetheless

2. Bjorn blows the competition away

Bjorn Borg dominated the All England Club with 5 straight titles from 1976 to 1980, with his first Wimbledon win coming without losing a single set throughout the tournament.

3. Martina’s masterclass

In 1983, Martina Navratilova was on the best winning streak in tennis history with an 86-1 ratio, the best ever in the Open Era.
At age 26, she demonstrated her capabilities as one of the best players in the Open Era, winning the finals 6-0, 6-3 in just 54 minutes to clinch the title.

4. John McEnroe wins in a jiffy

A year after watching Navratilova dominate the Open season, the world saw another phenomenon at Wimbledon as John McEnroe dropped just one set during the entire tournament enroute to victory in 1984.

5. Steffi Graf scales new heights

Taking consecutive victories over Monica Seles, Arantxa Sanchez Vicario, Chris Evert and Martina Navratilova in the final four matches of the 1989 tournament, Steffi Graf’s road to Wimbledon glory is perhaps the most impressive run in tournament history.

6. Roger Federer rocks the world

In 2006, Roger Federer arrived at Wimbledon already a King of the Grass Courts. However, in that year, the FedExpress blew away all opposition to take the title in a way few have seen before or since.


Submitted by B.A.N. Sarma (not verified) on Fri, 07/13/2018 - 12:46

Refer & Earn